date

slogan
Menu

Zappa plays for Bach – Frank Out! feat. R. Martin

The program for Zappanale 26 presents works by Frank Zappa, Johann Sebastian Bach, Robert Martin, and others. Including adaptations of the legendary music opera „Yellow Shark“ 1993 at the Frankfurt Opera. The concert and the Catherine's ensemble again was put together especially for the Hamburg concert. The Southern German Zappa cover band „Frank Out!“, Robert Martin and Albert Wing of „Banned from Utopia“ will also be performing at the Zappanale Festival in Bad Doberan.

Robert „Bobby“ Martin, born in 1948, is a classically educated hornist and multi-instrumentalist from Philadelphia, whose parents have already been working as opera singers. His scope ranges from the flugelhorn in the symphony to the companion of the US singer Etta James, from Zappa's extreme compositions such as "Envelopes" to Soft Rock for the TV series Baywatch or musical advice for Prince and Bette Milder. Since 1981 he toured with Frank Zappa and played on albums like “Thing Fish” or “The Dub Room Special”. In 1988, Martin and Albert Wing performed in Hamburg with Zappa’s "Best Band You (N)ever Heard!" . Today Martin is touring with "Banned from Utopia". But: "My studio is my main instrument".

Albert Wing, born in 1952, already learned to play the Clarinet at the age of nine, Saxophone with thirteen and visited school in Salt Lake City. In 1973, he nearly became a member of the "Mothers of Invention", but singer and saxophonist Napoleon Murphy Brock scooped him. Later Wing played for Zappa in various Classics as “Broadway The Hard Way” or “You Can`t Do That on Stage Anymore“, and in leading US jazz ensembles as well as with George Benson and Diana Ross. Lately Wing, also a member of the "Banned from Utopia", was dealing with the Brandenburg Concertos of JSB for a CD production.

„Frank Out!“, is one of the two successor bands of "Sheik Yerbouti" from Hessen/Rheinland Pfalz. "No one gets closer to Zappa than Sheik Yerbouti ", was the verdict of the Rhein-Zeitung from Mainz at the time. The visitors of the concert "Zappa spielt für Bach" in 2009 in St. Catherine appreciated the authentic way of playing a "Zappa unplugged" version by the six pros and semi-pros: Pianist and band founder Thomas Jung, born in 1965, guitarist Kai Rothfuchs, 1969, Zappa voice Harry Sebels, 1953, "Sweet" George Rademacher, 1964, bassist Jürgen Kocher, 1971 and drummer of the evening, Dieter Steinmann, born in 1962. The band has developed the musical program of the evening in co-operation with Robert Martin.

Siglinde Koch Sembdner, born in 1984, concert harpist from the Musikhochschule Düsseldorf already played in 2014 with the "American-European Mothers of Music" and the "The String Trash Project" in St Catherine the zappaesque and classical music of musical modernity. She also presents classics of Bach Opus (BWV) on the rarely used instrument.

Start 08 p.m., Hauptkirche St. Katharinen, Katharinenkirchhof 1, 20457 Hamburg (Tickets)

Read more...

Frank Out!

„Frank Out!“ is one of the two successor bands of "Sheik Yerbouti" from Hessen/Rheinland Pfalz. "No one gets closer to Zappa than Sheik Yerbouti ", was the verdict of the Rhein-Zeitung from Mainz at the time.

Last year the Grandsheiks (the remains of the original Sheik Yerbouti enforced by wonderful musicians) were on stage at the Zappanale. This year the other half of the Sheiks (Thomas Jung, Harry Sebel and „Sweet“ Georg Rademacher) will be there. Under the name “Frank Out!”. They will be supported by the Sheik Yerbouti founding member Kai Rotfuchs, the former Sheik Marco Steffen and bassist Jürgen Kochler from the Hunsrück.

They are looking forward to “performing a firework of Zappa classics, stomping Rock songs and wild Jazz improvisations” and with the voice of Harry Sebel they will make the Zappa fans dream.

But Frank Out! will already be in the starting blocks earlier. They have developed the musical program of the concert on Wednesday in Hamburg together with Robert Martin, and will be on stage there together with Albert Wing for the first time. So Albert Wing will join the list of alumni guest musicians of SheikYerbouti/FrankOut!, which already includes Robert Martin, Denny Walley, Ed Mann, Mike Keneally and Napoleon Murphy Brock.

Read more...

supported by

  • sponsoren lehmensiek

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren schollenberger

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 138 days!
14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in 138 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Zappa spielt für Bach – Frank Out! feat. R. Martin – ab 20 Uhr

Das Programm zur Zappanale 26 präsentiert Werke von Frank Zappa, Johann Sebastian Bach, Robert Martin u.a. Darunter auch Adaptionen der legendären Orchester Suite „The Yellow Shark“ 1993 in der Frankfurter Oper. Das Konzert und das Katharinen-Ensemble wurde wieder eigens für das Hamburger Konzert zusammen gestellt. Die süddeutsche Zappa-Coverband „Frank Out!“, sowie Robert Martin und Albert Wing in der Formation „Banned from Utopia“ stehen auch bei dem Musikfestival Zappanale in Bad Doberan auf der Bühne.

Robert „Bobby“ Martin, Jahrgang 1948, ist ein klassisch ausgebildeter Hornist und Multiinstrumentalist aus Philadelphia, dessen beiden Eltern schon als Opernsänger arbeiteten. Seine Bandbreite reicht vom Flügelhorn in der Symphonie bis zum Begleiter der US-Sängerin Etta James, Zappas Extremkompositionen wie Envelopes bis zu Soft-Rock für die TV-Serie Baywatch oder musikalische Beratung für Prince als auch Bette Milder. Seit dem Jahre 1981 tourte er mit Frank Zppa und spielte Alben wie Thing Fish oder The Dub Room Special ein. 1988 waren Martin und Albert Wing auch in Hamburg mit „The Best Band You (N) ever Heard!“ (Zappa). Heute ist Martin mit „Banned from Utopia“ unterwegs. Aber: „Mein Studio ist mein eigentliches Instrument“.

Albert Wing, Jahrgang 1952, lernte mit neun Jahren bereits Klarinette, mit Dreizehn das Saxophone und besuchte in Salt Lake City die Schule. Im Jahre 1973 sollte er Mitglied der „Mothers of Invention“ werden, doch der Sänger und Saxophonist Napoleon Murphy Brock war ihm zuvor gekommen. Wings spielte später ab 1986 für Zappa in diversen Classics wie Broadway The Hard Way oder Can`t Do That on Stage Anymore als auch in führenden Jazz-Ensembles der Vereinigten Staaten sowie mit George Benson oder Diana Ross. Zuletzt beschäftigte sich Wing, ebenfalls Mitglied der „Banned from Utopia“ mit den Brandenburgischen Konzerten von JSB für eine CD-Produktion.

„Frank Out!“, ist eine der beiden Nachfolgebands von „Sheik Yerbouti“ aus Hessen/Rheinland Pfalz. „Näher als Sheik Yerbouti kommt niemand an Zappa heran“, lautete damals das Urteil der Mainzer Rhein-Zeitung. Auch die Besucher des Konzerts „Zappa spielt für Bach“ im Jahre 2009 in St. Katharinen schätzten die authentischen Spielweise einer „Zappaunplugged“-Version der sechs Profis- und Semiprofis: Pianist Bandgründer Thomas Jung, Jahrgang 1965, und Gitarrist Kai Rothfuchs, 1969, Zappa-Stimme Harry Sebels, 1953, „Sweet“ George Rademacher, 1964, Bassist Jürgen Kocher, 1971, sowie Drummer des Abends, Dieter Steinmann, Jahrgang 1962. Die Band hat zusammen mit Robert Martin das musikalische Programm des Abends entwickelt.

Siglinde Koch-Sembdner, Jahrgang 1984, Konzertharfenistin der Musikhochschule Düsseldorf, spielte bereits 2014 mit den „American-European Mothers of Music“ und dem „The String Trash Project“ in St. Katharinen zappaeske und klassische Musik der musikalischen Modernen. Ebenso interpretiert sie Klassiker des Bach Werke Verzeichnis (BWV) auf dem eher selten eingesetzten Instrument.

Beginn 20.00 Uhr, Hauptkirche St. Katharinen, Katharinenkirchhof 1 20457 Hamburg (Tickets)

weiterlesen ...

Frank Out!

„Frank Out!“ ist eine der beiden Nachfolgebands von „Sheik Yerbouti“. „Näher als Sheik Yerbouti kommt niemand an Zappa heran“, lautete damals das Urteil der Mainzer Rhein-Zeitung.

Im letzten Jahr waren die Grandsheiks, sozusagen der übriggebliebene mit großartigen Musikern verstärkte Teil von Sheik Yerbouti, auf der Zappanale-Bühne zu Gast. In diesem Jahr stehen mit Thomas Jung, Harry Sebel und „Sweet“ Georg Rademacher nach zweijähriger zappaesker Pause die restlichen Sheiks auf der Zappanale-Bühne. Eben als Frank Out!. Das Ganze verstärkt durch das Sheik Yerbouti Gründungsmitglied Kai Rotfuchs, dem ehemaligen Sheik Marco Steffen und dem Hunsrücker Bassisten Jürgen Kochler.

Sie selbst freuen sich, „ein Feuerwerk aus Zappa-Klassikern, treibenden Rocknummern und wilden Jazz-Improvisationen abzufeuern“ und mit der Stimme von Harry Sebel werden sie die Zappafans auf jeden Fall zum Träumen bringen.

Frank Out! ist aber auch schon vorher am Start, sie haben zusammen mit Robert Martin das musikalische Programm des Konzertes am Mittwoch in Hamburg entwickelt und werden dabei das erste Mal mit Albert Wing auf der Bühne stehen. Dieser gesellt sich dann in die Liste der Alumni-Gastmusiker von SheikYerbouti/FrankOut! ein. Zu diesen zählen Robert Martin, Denny Walley, Ed Mann, Mike Keneally und Napoleon Murphy Brock.

Frank Out! sind:

Thomas Jung - keyboards, backing vocals
Jürgen Kochler - bass
George Rademacher - guitar, backing vocals
Kai Rothfuchs - guitar, backing vocals
Harry Sebel - lead vocals, add. Keyb.
Marco Steffen - drums

weiterlesen ...

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #29

20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 296 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 296 days!