date

slogan
Menu

Lindsay Cooper Songbook (UK)

Lindsay Cooper Songbook (UK)
John Greaves's photo by Bruno Charavet

ABOUT LINDSAY COOPER:

Lindsay Cooper (1951-2013) brought the bassoon and the compositional techniques of 20th century art music into the world of ‘70s experimental rock. She was a musical polyglot, equally fluent in classical, rock, jazz, and free improvisation and the author of many film and theatre soundtracks. She was a member of the groups Comus, Henry Cow, National Health, David Thomas and the Pedestrians and the Mike Westbrook Orchestra. Lindsay co-founded News from Babel and the Feminist Improvising Group and led her own projects Music for Films and Oh Moscow. She lived for many years with multiple sclerosis, which eventually forced her to retire from performing in the 1990s.

PROGRAMME:

A selection of Lindsay’s compositions for the groups Henry Cow, News From Babel and Music for Films, 1978 – 1982.

HISTORY:

Yumi Hara formed Half The Sky in 2015 to perform Lindsay Cooper’s songs in Japan. The original group was entirely Japanese, with the exception of original drummer and lyricist Chris Cutler. This group - with small personnel changes - was later invited to Europe, when it was joined by the songs’ original singer Dagmar Krause. For these new European concerts the line-up adds two more members of Henry Cow, for whom much of this material was written, and called themselves Lindsay Cooper Songbook. As was true of the original bands Henry Cow and News From Babel - the new line-up retains an equal gender split.

SOURCES:

With the exception of Slice, it was only after - and because of - the 2014 concerts that any working scores for the Henry Cow pieces became available, painstakingly pieced together from Lindsay’s notebooks, original band-members’ surviving parts and a careful analysis of the recordings. A handful of the News from Babel songs – none of which had ever been performed live – had been reconstructed for the memorial concert by Zeena Parkins; the rest Yumi had to work out from scratch – as well as rearranging all the compositions for a small ensemble of multi-tasking musicians.

‘… a solid ensemble with the music perfectly rehearsed but also with an unusual warmth … a very emotional finale to the festival...’ Victorio Calvo

‘...Each sound they played was polished to the extent that no other sounds would have been suitable to play Lindsay Cooper's music’

‘I was extremely impressed by this superior ensemble which recreated Lindsay Cooper's music in the best form imaginable.’ Osamu Sakamoto (EURO ROCK PRESS)

 

CURRENT ENSEMBLE:

YUMI HARA: arrangements, piano, keyboards, lever harp, voice (The Artaud Beats, you me & us, Jump for Joy! etc)
CHLÖE HERINGTON: bassoon, soprano sax, melodica (Knifeworld, Chrome Hoof, VÄLVĒ)
DAGMAR KRAUSE: voice (Henry Cow, News from Babel, Slapp Happy etc)
TIM HODGKINSON: clarinet, alto sax, lap steel guitar (Henry Cow, The Work, K-Space etc)
JOHN GREAVES: bass, keyboard, voice (Henry Cow, Mike Mantler, National Heath, etc)
CHRIS CUTLER: drums (Henry Cow, News from Babel, Pere Ubu etc)

 

Additional Info

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

  • sponsoren Haussmann

  • sponsoren Westholt

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in -345 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 26 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Lindsay Cooper Songbook (UK)

Lindsay Cooper Songbook (UK)
John Greaves's photo by Bruno Charavet

ÜBER LINDSAY COOPER:

Lindsay Cooper (1951-2013) brachte das Fagott und die kompositorischen Techniken der Kunstmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts in die Welt des Experimentalrock der 70er Jahre. Sie war ein musikalischer Polyglott, fließend sowohl in Klassik, Rock, Jazz und freier Improvisation und Autorin vieler Film- und Theatersoundtracks. Sie war Mitglied der Gruppen Comus, Henry Cow, National Health, David Thomas and the Pedestrians und dem Mike Westbrook Orchestra. Lindsay war Mitbegründerin von News from Babel und der Feminist Improvising Group und leitete ihre eigenen Projekte Music for Films und Oh Moscow. Sie lebte viele Jahre mit Multipler Sklerose, was sie schließlich dazu zwang, sich in den 1990er Jahren vom aktiven Auftreten zurückzuziehen.

PROGRAMM:

Eine Auswahl von Lindsay’s Kompositionen für Henry Cow, News From Babelund Music for Films, 1978 – 1982.

HISTORY:

2015 Yumi Hara gründete Half The Sky um Lindsay Coopers Songs in Japan zu spielen. Die ursprüngliche Gruppe bestand, mit Ausnahme des ursprünglichen Schlagzeugers und Texters Chris Cutler, ausschließlich aus japanischen Musikern. Diese Gruppe - mit kleinen personellen Veränderungen - wurde später nach Europa eingeladen, wo sich die ursprüngliche Sängerin Dagmar Krause anschloss. Für diese neuen europäischen Konzerte verpflichtete die Band zwei weitere Mitglieder von Henry Cow, für die viel von diesem Material geschrieben wurde, und benannte ich in Lindsay Cooper Songbook um. Wie bei den Originalbands Henry Cow und News From Babel – weist das neue Line-Up ein ausgewogenes Geschlechtsverhältnis auf.

QUELLEN:

Mit Ausnahme von Slice, wurden sämtliche Noten für die Henry-Cow-Stücke erst nach  den Konzerten von 2014 verfügbar, sorgfältig aus Lindsays Notizbüchern, den noch existierenden Materialien der Originalbandmitglieder und einer gründlichen Analyse der Aufnahmen zusammengestellt. Eine Handvoll der News from Babel Stücke, von denen keines jemals live aufgeführt worden war, waren für das Gedenkkonzert von Zeena Parkins rekonstruiert worden; den Rest musste Yumi von Grund auf neu erarbeiten - und natürlich sämtliche Kompositionen für das kleine Ensemble von Multitasking-Musikern neu arrangieren.

‘…ein solides Ensemble mit der perfekt einstudierter Musik, aber auch mit einer ungewöhnlichen Wärme ... ein sehr emotionales Finale des Festivals...’ Victorio Calvo

‘... Jeder Klang, den sie spielten, wurde so geschliffen, dass keine anderen Klänge besser geeignet wären, Lindsay Coopers Musik zu spielen’

‘Ich war sehr beeindruckt von diesem überlegenen Ensemble, das Lindsay Coopers Musik in der bestmöglichen Form neu erschuf’ Osamu Sakamoto (EURO ROCK PRESS)

 

AKTUELLES ENSEMBLE:

YUMI HARA: arrangements, piano, keyboards, lever harp, voice (The Artaud Beats, you me & us, Jump for Joy! etc)
CHLÖE HERINGTON: bassoon, soprano sax, melodica (Knifeworld, Chrome Hoof, VÄLVĒ)
DAGMAR KRAUSE: voice (Henry Cow, News from Babel, Slapp Happy etc)
TIM HODGKINSON: clarinet, alto sax, lap steel guitar (Henry Cow, The Work, K-Space etc)
JOHN GREAVES: bass, keyboard, voice (Henry Cow, Mike Mantler, National Heath, etc)
CHRIS CUTLER: drums (Henry Cow, News from Babel, Pere Ubu etc)

Weitere Informationen

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

  • sponsoren Haussmann

  • sponsoren Westholt

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #29

20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 3 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 3 days!