date

slogan
Menu

Tante Tofu (DE)

Tante Tofu (DE)

Tante Tofu MitNichten
 (Avantgarde Rock from Hamburg and Northern Germany)

 

-> Information is not knowledge. <-

Core line-up:
Christiane Seebach - vocals, wind controller
Andreas Steinhardt - guitar, vocals
Boris Schegene - bass
Oliver Specht - drums
The information about die Besetzung des Begleitchors "MitNichten" ist not knowledge. 

 

-> Knowledge is not wisdom. <-

Is Tante Tofu the wife of Uncle Meat? The kinship not only shows in the fact that Tante Tofu plays the music of Uncle Frank. Even their own songs, sung in German, do not stop at clichés or at crossing borders. Sometimes it sounds like hard rock, sometimes jazz, sometimes pop, sometimes free improvisation. At Zappanale, the current program "Sauerkraut" will consist of Zappa music and original material in equal shares.

 

-> Wisdom is not truth. <-

Tante Tofu was founded on August 16, 2009 at Zappanale #20 with the aim to join this circle of illustrious bands. The plan did work: with their oratorio "Carl-Heinz" Tante Tofu already enthused the audience at Zappanale #22.

 

-> Truth is not beauty. <-

The genre diversity of Tante Tofu also shows in collaboration with other bands. Tante Tofu has played with Doctor Nerve (avant-garde rock from New York), Vogelfrey (medieval rock), [soon] (dark-rock), Nico Brettschneider (songwriter) and The Ricky Kings (rock).

 

-> Beauty is not love. <-

Much has changed since their performance at Zappanale #22. The core line-up, consisting of Christiane and Stoni, was completed at the end of 2016 by drummer Oli, who played for decades in successful session bands and, among others, in the rock band "Die spitzen Päpste". Bassist Boris, who is established and well-known in the ska and jazz area joined the band in mid-2017. This year the line-up will be completed by the accompanying choir "MitNichten", which will be good for some surprises.

 

-> Love is not music. <-

"The beautiful, bare backs of (presumably) two band members decorated Tante Tofu's poster, it's certainly an eye-catcher and perhaps the most photographed subject (next to Zappa's beard) of Zappanale #22." (Ingo Saager on germanrock.de)

"Fun was also the inventive show by TANTE TOFU, who devoted themselves to the topic of ZAPPA with their revue in their own way." (Burkhard Schempp in "We Are The Other People")

"The Carl Heinz show with German lyrics, peppered with plenty of show elements and social criticism, was well received by the audience and the band was very responsive to the audience. We have become curious about this band ..." (Ingo Saager on germanrock. de)

 

-> Music is the best. <-

"The modern day composer refuses to the!" (Uncle Frank)

"Ich will Sonne!" (Tante Tofu)

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

  • sponsoren Haussmann

  • sponsoren Westholt

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #28

14. - 16.07.2017
The Torture stops in -316 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 55 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Tante Tofu (DE)

Tante Tofu (DE)

Tante Tofu MitNichten
(Avantgarde-Rock aus Hamburg und Norddeutschland)

 

--> Information is not knowledge. <--

Stammbesetzung:
Christiane Seebach - Gesang, Wind Controller
Andreas Steinhardt - Gitarre, Gesang
Boris Schegene - Bass
Oliver Specht - Schlagzeug
The information about die Besetzung des Begleitchors "MitNichten" ist not knowledge.

 

--> Knowledge is not wisdom. <--

Ist Tante Tofu die Frau von Uncle Meat? Die Verwandtschaft zeigt sich nicht nur darin, dass Tante Tofu die Musik von Onkel Frank spielt. Auch die eigenen, deutschsprachigen Stücke machen weder vor dem Klischee noch vor der Grenzüberschreitung halt.
Mal klingt es nach Hardrock, mal nach Jazz, mal nach Pop, mal wird frei improvisiert.
Auf der Zappanale wird das aktuelle Programm "Sauerkraut" zur Hälfte aus Zappa-Musik und zur Hälfte aus eigenem Material bestehen.

 

--> Wisdom is not truth. <--

Tante Tofu gründete sich am 16. August 2009 auf der Zappanale #20 mit dem Ziel, sich auch in diesen Kreis illustrer Bands einreihen zu dürfen. Der Plan ging auf: Mit dem Oratorium "Carl-Heinz" begeisterte Tante Tofu bereits auf der Zappanale #22.

 

--> Truth is not beauty. <--

Die Genrevielfalt von Tante Tofu spiegelt sich auch in der Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Bands wider. Tante Tofu spielte unter anderem schon mit Doctor Nerve (Avangarde-Rock aus New York), Vogelfrey (Mittelalter-Rock), [soon] (Dark-Rock), Nico Brettschneider (Liedermacher) und The Ricky Kings (Rock).

 

--> Beauty is not love. <--

Seit ihrem Auftritt auf der Zappanale #22 hat sich viel getan. Zur Kernbesetzung, bestehend aus Christiane und Stoni, stieß Ende 2016 der Schlagzeuger Oli, welcher vorher jahrzehntelang in erfolgreichen Sessionbands und unter anderem in der Rockband "Die spitzen Päpste" spielte und Mitte 2017 der im Ska- und Jazzbereich etablierte und bekannte Bassist Boris dazu. Vervollständigt wird das Line-Up in diesem Jahr durch den Begleitchor "MitNichten", welcher noch für die eine oder andere Überraschung sorgen wird.

 

--> Love is not music. <--

"Das Plakat von Tante Tofu zierten die wunderschönen, nackten Rückseiten von zwei Bandmitgliedern (vermutlich), es ist jedenfalls ein Hingucker und vielleicht das meistfotografierte Motiv (neben Zappas Bart) der Zappanale #22." (Ingo Saager auf germanrock.de)

"Spaß machte auch die originelle Show von TANTE TOFU, die sich mit ihrer Revue auf ganz eigene Art und Weise dem Thema ZAPPA widmeten." (Burkhard Schempp in "We Are The Other People")

"Die mit reichlich Showelementen und Sozialkritik gespickte Carl Heinz - Show mit deutschen Texten kam beim Publikum gut an und die Band ging auch sehr gut auf das Publikum ein. Wir sind jedenfalls neugierig auf diese Band geworden..." (Ingo Saager auf germanrock.de)

 

--> Music is the best. <--

"The modern day composer refuses to die!" (Onkel Frank)

"Ich will Sonne!" (Tante Tofu)

supported by

  • sponsoren auto birne

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

  • sponsoren Haussmann

  • sponsoren Westholt

presented by

  • sponsoren ostseezeitung

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #29

20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 59 days!
20. - 22.07.2018
The Torture stops in 59 days!