date

slogan
Menu

Zappanale #30 Exhibition

Zappanale #30 Exhibition

Wednesday, July 17. 2019
14:00 Am Markt 3, Ausstellungseröffnung / Opening Exhibition

Thursday, July 18. 2019
10:00 - 14:00

Friday, July 19. 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Don & Bunk
12:00 - 13:00 Charles Ulrich

Saturday, July 20. 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Mick Zeuner, Klaus Kühner, Andrew Greenaway
12:00 - 13:00 Zement

Sunday, July 21. 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Fried Dähn & Ali N. Askin
12:00 - 13:00 Frank Wonneberg Lectures

Touring can make you crazy…

... and you‘re getting the blues and start writing words like Road Ladies. Yes, it‘s really sad if you‘re feeling lonely on a 30 day tour. The only ones who are loving you are the groupies and the promoter. And the band is playing the most horrible shit you‘ve ever heard. You are getting so nutty that you start to compare a city with a tuna sandwich and the only reason why you don‘t stop playing is to earn your airplane ticket back to L.A.
Yes, being on tour is work.... bloody hard work, Zappa said once in an interview. And when in the end you take a bath on this you think for yourself what‘s all this good for. But Zappa was workaholic, artist, musician and an exceptionally gifted entertainer. With this mainspring it was indispensable for him to pack his bags and go on tour. The world had to be confronted with his creativity... and he needed the bucks for his next projects.
What we are presenting to you in the exhibition of Zappanale 2019 are the concert series of Frank Zappa in chronological order. In cooperation with Klaus Kühner and Andrew Greenaway Mick Zeuner created a tour atlas, which gave us the idea to form an exhibition, which illustrates all facets of the more than 20 years of live history of the Mothers and Zappa‘s other bands.
Helmut King, too, has dedicated himself to this subject and his this time extraordinary large-size pictures are indicating very nicely what it means having a crazy time on stage.
We are hoping that you are going to have a lot of fun this year again on the smallest Zappanale stage. The Exhibition Team proudly presents: Don Preston, Bunk Gardner, Fried Dähn and Ali N. Askin!
The talks of Frank Wonneberg (Joe´s Garage plus Beat Rupp Kollektion) and Charles Ulrich, who is going to present his book „The Big Note“ are promising to be exciting, as well as the Q&A event with Mick Zeuner, Klaus Kühner and Andrew Greenaway.
As every year entrance is free, which is due to the artists and authors, who all kindly abstained from taking fee but instead are performing only for your and their own pleasure.
The exhibition will open on Wednesday, July 17 at 2 pm and from then on can be visited until Sunday always from 10 am to 2 pm in Bad Doberan, Am Markt 3. Burkhard Schempp

The Zappa Tours

This year‘s exhibition is completely focussed on the tours of Frank Zappa. A wonderful matter which we should have considered already a long ti me ago. Now this subject has become a must: Over decades Mick Zeuner has collected data, aligned them with Zappa‘s musicians and family members and created with the help of Klaus Kühner and Andrew Greenaway the extraordinay book „The Zappa Tour Atlas“.
This book is the basis for our exhibition. We are presenting all 52 maps which are showing Zappa‘s routes from 1940 until 1993. All that will be completed by exhibits from more than 25 years of rock history. Some collectors will open their treasure chamber und are providing very special samples. Be surprised! „The Zappa Tour Atlas“ will be released officially on September 6, 2019 by the English Wymer publishing house, but exclusively for Zappanale 250 copies will be supplied in advance. They come with a special off ering price and the authors, who will be present, too, love to sign their work.
Robert Ried

More in this category: « Zappa spielt für Bach

presented by

Zappanale #31

17. - 19.07.2020
The Torture stops in 215 days!
17. - 19. July 2020
The Torture stops in 215 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Zappanale #30 Exhibition

Zappanale #30 Exhibition

Mittwoch, 17. Juli 2019
14:00 Am Markt 3, Ausstellungseröffnung / Opening Exhibition

Donnerstag, 18. Juli 2019
10:00 - 14:00

Freitag, 19. Juli 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Don & Bunk
12:00 - 13:00 Charles Ulrich

Samstag, 20. Juli 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Mick Zeuner, Klaus Kühner, Andrew Greenaway
12:00 - 13:00 Zement

Sonntag, 21. Juli 2019, 10:00 - 14:00
11:00 - 12:00 Fried Dähn & Ali N. Askin
12:00 - 13:00 Frank Wonneberg Lectures

Touring can make you crazy…

… und du kriegst den Blues, schreibst dann Texte wie Road Ladies. Ja, es ist schon traurig, wenn du dich einsam fühlst bei ner 30 Tage Tournee. Die einzigen, die dich lieben sind Groupies und Promoter. Und die Band spielt den grauenhaftesten Scheiß, den du je gehört hast. Du wirst so bekloppt, dass du eine Stadt mit nem Thunfisch Sandwich vergleichst und du eigentlich nur spielst, um das Rückflug Ticket nach L. A. bezahlen zu können.
Ja, Touren ist Arbeit … verdammt harte Arbeit, sagte Zappa mal in einem Interview. Und wenn du dann am Ende noch draufzahlst, fragt man sich schon, was das Ganze eigentlich soll. Aber Zappa war Workaholic, Künstler, Musiker und ein begnadeter Entertainer. Aus dieser Triebfeder heraus war es unabdingbar, seine Koffer zu packen und auf Tour zu gehen. Die Welt musste mit seiner Kreativität konfrontiert werden … und er brauchte Kohle für seine nächsten Projekte.
Was wir Euch in der 2019er Zappanale Exhibition präsentieren, ist eine chronologische Abfolge sämtlicher Konzertreihen von Frank Zappa. Mick Zeuner hat in Zusammenarbeit mit Klaus Kühner und Andrew Greenaway einen Tour Atlas erstellt, der uns auf die Idee brachte, eine Ausstellung zu gestalten, die sämtliche Facetten der mehr als 20 Jahre Live Geschichte der Mothers und Zappas weiterer Bands veranschaulicht.
Auch Helmut King hat sich diesem Thema gewidmet und seine diesmal außerordentlich großformatigen Bilder zeigen sehr schön, wie verrückt es auf der Bühne zugehen kann.
Wir hoffen, dass Ihr auch in diesem Jahr viel Freude mit den Special Events auf der kleinsten Zappanale Bühne haben werdet. The Exhibition Team proudly presents: Don Preston, Bunk Gardner, Fried Dähn und Ali N. Askin!
Spannend wird es bei den Vorträgen von Frank Wonneberg (Joe´s Garage plus Beat Rupp Kollektion), Charles Ulrich, der sein Buch „The Big Note“ präsentiert sowie bei dem Q & A Event mit Mick Zeuner, Klaus Kühner und Andrew Greenaway.
Und wie in jedem Jahr ist der Eintritt frei, was wir den Künstlern und Autoren zu verdanken haben, die dankenswerter Weise allesamt auf eine Gage verzichten und nur zu Eurem und ihrem eigenen Vergnügen auftreten.
Die Ausstellung eröffnet am Mittwoch, 17. Juli um 14:00 Uhr und ist dann bis Sonntag jeweils von 10.00 bis 14.00 Uhr Am Markt 3 in Bad Doberan geöffnet. Burkhard Schempp

The Zappa Tours

Die diesjährige Ausstellung steht ganz im Zeichen der Frank Zappa-Touren. Ein wunderbarer Stoff , dem wir uns hätten schon lange widmen können. Jetzt wurde das Thema ein Muss: Mick Zeuner hat über Jahrzehnte Daten gesammelt, mit Musikern und Familienmitgliedern Zappas abgeglichen und mit Hilfe von Klaus Kühner und Andrew Greenaway das außergewöhnliche Buch „The Zappa Tour Atlas“ geschaffen.
Dieses Buch bildet die Grundlage unserer Ausstellung. Wir präsentieren alle 52 Landkarten, die Zappas Wege von 1940 bis 1993 aufzeigen.
Ergänzt wird das ganze durch Exponate aus über 25 Jahren Rockgeschichte. Einige Sammler öffnen ihre Schatzkammer und stellen ganz besondere Ausstellungsstücke zur Verfügung. Lasst Euch überraschen!
„The Zappa Tour Atlas“ erscheint offiziell am 6. September 2019 im englischen Wymer Verlag. Exklusiv zur Zappanale werden vorab 250 Exemplare geliefert und zum günstigeren Einführungspreis angeboten. Die Autoren sind ebenfalls anwesend und signieren ihr Werk gerne. Robert Riedt

Mehr in dieser Kategorie: « Zappa spielt für Bach

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #31

17. - 19.07.2020
The Torture stops in 300 days!
17. - 19. Juli 2020
The Torture stops in 300 days!