date

slogan
Menu

MagNiFZnt (SE)

Swedish duo performing the music of Frank Zappa. Two acoustic guitars, two voices. And sometimes maybe a kazoo. That's it!

Started off in 2011 and already played at Zappanale in 2012. Since then MagNiFZnt has been abroad to Netherlands (Zappadag 2014, Mosae Zappa 2017) and to UK (Festival Moo-Ah, 2017). Slottsskogen Goes Progressive in Gothenburg has been an annual stage for MagNiFZnt from 2013-2017.

“Of course we are always looking for new places to play at, as well as hopes for returns to where we’ve already been.”

So: welcome back to Zappanale!

Magnus Liljeqvist - guitar and vocals
Niklas Lychou - guitar and vocals
FZ- spirit and inspiration

Read more...

Treacherous Cretins (UK)

Treacherous Cretins are a London based band passionate about playing the music of the legendary Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention!  

Having made their debut at Festival Moo-Ah! this year, they have rapidly become fan favourites and are delighted to be opening the Jubilee edition of Zappanale! 

Their aim is to keep the music of FZ alive and introduce the music to new fans. And to give an entertaining show… and they are so very young and monde…

The Treacherous Cretins are:

Ollie Hill − trombone, lead vocals
Tomáš Nejedlý− bass
Jen Parkinson − keyboards, backing vocals
John Parkinson − drums, backing vocals
Sam Ward − guitar

Read more...

Zappa spielt für Bach

Zappa plays for Bach - Hamburg, St. Katharinen

The program is based on Frank Zappa’s motto "Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny".

In his work, the great musical transformer and composer Frank Zappa also used the jazz principles of free improvisation and subtle harmony. He especially appreciated the US pianist Thelonious Monk (1917-1982), whose very own style will be heard in St. Katharinen. Interpreted by a jazz trio of the younger generation from Hamburg: Matthäus Winnitzki (piano), John Hughes (bass), Björn Lücker (drums). Works by Zappa, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951) and Friedemann "Fried" Dähn (* 1958) u.a. will be presented too. In addition to two Zappa alumni from the USA and Germany and the drummer of the Grandmothers Hamburg's most innovative jazz musician and promoter will play in the evening and testify that jazz can be very lively.

Fried Dähn, born in 1958, a German cellist and composer, Professor of "Music and Sound" at the Schwäbisch Hall University of Applied Sciences, was a member of the legendary Ensemble Modern in Frankfurt, which premiered Frank Zappa’s orchestral work “The Yellow Shark” at the Frankfurt Opera in 1992 after rehearsing it in LA. He also collaborated with jazz saxophonist Ornette Coleman and contemporary composer Karlheinz Stockhausen. Dähn developed an electro-cello in the nineties and, after working as a solo cellist of the Württembergische Philharmonie in Reutlingen, designed various innovative music formats. In a kind of "Ensemble Modern St. Katharinen", supported by the light artist Laurenz Theinert, born in 1963, studying in Stuttgart and Leicester, GB, Fried will enchant St. Katharinen after dark with musically controlled light sources: "Visual Piano".

Gabriel Coburger, born in 1967, born near Hamburg, is a German musician of "Creative Jazz" as it is called on Wikipedia. He started with traditional jazz with the "Blackbirds of Paradise", played in the Bundesjazzorchester and got his further education in New York, where later on he passed the hardness test for every jazz musician as a freelance musician four years. He played with the jazz giants Lionel Hampton, Al Jarrau and Clark Terry in the renowned NDR Big Band and became involved in Hamburg as a promoter of modern jazz. His concert series "Fat Jazz Urban Exchange", first in Hamburg's Golem Club then at the club " Übel & Gefährlich" / Heiliggeistbunker and just recently moved to the Yoko Club, he presents nationwide important jazz musicians and especially young bands every Wednesday night. He toured as an ambassador of good jazz from the Hanseatic city on almost every continent and can be heard on albums of the late singer Roger Cicero or the jazz singer Ulita Knaus. Together with the church musician Claus Bantzer he played Hamburg's churches - including St. Katharinen - with a special solo program.

The Zappa Alumni: Napoleon Murphy Brock, ageless, Grammy Award-winning saxophonist, flutist and singer, and since 2008 a member of the St. Katharinen Zappa musicians family. He toured with the "Mothers of Invention" in Frank Zappa's most important band of the seventies. The master wrote some songs for and with Napoleon. Today, he passes on his knowledge as a kind of "Professor of Zappalogy" to the next generation in various universities.

Christopher "Chris" Garcia, born 1957 in East Los Angeles, California, plays countless percussion instruments and is a composer in many musical ethnological environments such as his family home Mexico. In more than a thousand concerts on the 5 continents he has made a living as a world musician. He has drummed for the "Grandmothers of Invention" as well as for the classical conductors Kristjan Järvi or various chamber music ensembles.

Read more...

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #30

19. - 21.07.2019
The Torture stops in 56 days!
19. - 21. Juli 2019
The Torture stops in 56 days!

date

slogan
Menu

MagNiFZnt (SE)

Schwedisches Duo, das sich der Musik von Frank Zappa verschrieben hat. Zwei akustische Gitarren, zwei Stimmen. Und ab und zu vielleicht mal ein Kazoo. Das war's!

2011 gestartet und schon 2012 auf der Zappanale aufgetreten. Seitdem war MagNiFZnt in den Niederlanden (Zappadag 2014, Mosae Zappa 2017) und in Großbritannien (Festival Moo-Ah, 2017). Slottsskogen Goes Progressive in Göteborg war von 2013 bis 2017 eine jährliche Etappe für MagNiFZnt.

“Wir sind immer auf der Suche nach neuen Orten zum Auftreten, und hoffen natürlich auch dorthin zurückzukehren, wo wir schon waren.”

Also: Willkommen zurück auf der Zappanale!

Magnus Liljeqvist - guitar and vocals
Niklas Lychou - guitar and vocals
FZ- spirit and inspiration

weiterlesen ...

Treacherous Cretins (UK)

Treacherous Cretins sind eine Londoner Band, die leidenschaftlich gern die Musik des legendären Frank Zappa und der Mothers of Invention spielt!

Nachdem sie dieses Jahr beim Festival Moo-Ah! debütiert haben, sind sie schnell zu Fanfavoriten geworden und freuen sich, die Jubiläums-Edition der Zappanale zu eröffnen!

Ihr Ziel ist es, die Musik von FZ am Leben zu erhalten und sie neuen Fans vorzustellen. Und eine unterhaltsame Show zu geben… und sie sind so very young and monde…

Die Treacherous Cretins sind:

Ollie Hill − trombone, lead vocals
Tomáš Nejedlý− bass
Jen Parkinson − keyboards, backing vocals
John Parkinson − drums, backing vocals
Sam Ward − guitar

weiterlesen ...

Zappa spielt für Bach

Zappa spielt für Bach – Hamburg, St. Katharinen

Das Programm steht unter Frank Zappas Motto "Jazz is not dead, it just smells funny".

Der große musikalische Verwandler und Komponist Frank Zappa bediente sich in seinem Werk auch beim Jazz dessen Prinzipien der freien Improvisation und raffinierter Harmonik. Er schätzte besonders den US-Pianist Thelonious Monk (1917 bis 1982), dessen ganz eigener Stil in St. Katharinen zu hören sein wird. Interpretiert von einem Hamburger Jazz-Trio der jüngeren Generation: Matthäus Winnitzki (piano), John Hughes (bass), Björn Lücker (drums). Aber auch Werke von Zappa, Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 bis 1750), Arnold Schönberg (1874 bis 1951) und Friedemann "Fried" Dähn (*1958)  u.a. werden zu hören sein. Nicht nur die beiden Zappa-Alumni aus den USA und Deutschland und der Schlagzeuger der Grandmothers, sondern auch Hamburgs innovativster Jazz-Musiker und Promoter werden an dem Abend aufspielen und zeugen davon, dass der Jazz sehr lebendig sein kann.

Fried Dähn, Jahrgang 1958, ein deutscher Cellist und Komponist, Professor für "Musik und Sound" an der Hochschule Schwäbisch Hall war Mitglied des legendären Ensemble Modern aus Frankfurt, das in L.A. mit Frank Zappa zusammen die Uraufführung seines Orchesterwerks Yellow Shark in der Frankfurter Oper 1992 vorbereitete. Ebenfalls arbeitete er mit dem Jazzsaxophonisten Ornette Coleman als auch dem zeitgenössigen Komponisten Karlheinz Stockhausen zusammen. Dähn entwickelte in den neunziger Jahren ein Electro-Cello und gestaltete nach seiner Tätigkeit als Solocellist der Württembergischen Philharmonie in Reutlingen diverse in innovative Musikformate. In einer Art "Ensemble Modern St. Katharinen" wird er zusammen mit dem Lichtkünstler Laurenz Theinert, Jahrgang 1963, Studium in Stuttgart und Leicester, GB, St. Katharinen nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit mit musikalisch gesteuerten Lichtquellen verzaubern: "Visual Piano".

Gabriel Coburger, Jahrgang 1967, geboren bei Hamburg, ist ein deutscher Musiker des "Creative Jazz" wie es bei Wikipedia heißt. Er startete mit Traditional Jazz bei den "Blackbirds of Paradise", spielte im Bundesjazzorchester und bekam seine weitere Ausbildung in New York, wo er später vier Jahre als freiberuflicher Musiker den Härtetest für jeden Jazzer bestand. Mit den Jazz-Größen Lionel Hampton, Al Jarrau und Clark Terry musizierte er in der renommierten NDR Bigband und engagierte sich in Hamburg als Promotor des modernen Jazz. Seine Konzertreihe "Fat Jazz Urban Exchange", zunächst im Hamburger Club Golem und heute im "Übel & Gefährlich" / Heiliggeistbunker,  präsentiert er jeden Mittwoch bundesweit wichtige Jazzer und vor allem Nachwuchsbands. Er tourte auf fast allen Kontinenten als Botschafter des guten Jazz aus der Hansestadt und ist auf Alben des früh verstorbenen Sängers Roger Cicero oder der Jazzerin Ulita Knaus zu hören. Zusammen mit dem Kirchenmusiker Claus Bantzer bespielte er Hamburgs Kirchen - so auch in St. Katharinen mit einen besonderen Soloprogramm.

Der Zappa-Alumni: Napoleon Murphy Brock, Jahrgang: alterslos, ist Grammy-Preis-ausgezeichneter Saxophonist, Flötist und Sänger und seit 2008 Mitglied der St. Katharinen  Zappa-Musikerfamiie. Er tourte mit den "Mothers of Invention" in Frank Zappas wohl wichtigster Band der Siebziger Jahre. Einige Songs hat der Meister für und mit Napoleon geschrieben. Heute gibt er sein Wissen als eine Art "Professor für Zappalogie" in diversen Hochschulen an die nächste Generation weiter.

Christopher "Chris" Garcia, Jahrgang 1957, geboren in East Los Angelas, California, spielt unzählige Perkussionsinstrumente und ist Komponist in vielen musikalisch ethnologischen Umfeldern wie seiner Familienheimat Mexiko. In über tausend Konzerten auf den 5 Kontinenten hat er sich als Weltmusiker getummelt. Für die "Grandmothers of Invention" hat er ebenso getrommelt, wie für die klassischen Dirigenten Kristjan Järvi oder diverse kammermusikalischen Ensembles.

weiterlesen ...

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #30

19. - 21.07.2019
The Torture stops in 59 days!
19. - 21. Juli 2019
The Torture stops in 59 days!