date

slogan
Menu

Ed Palermo Big Band (US)

Ed Palermo Big Band (US)

Ed Palermo's Big Band! Yes. Yes. Yes.

After many years – the legendary Z#13 – Ed Palermo is finally again visiting us with his band at Zappanale. And there's rather nothing more to say than: Have fun and enjoy!
But of course he and his band are worth some more words. Ed Palermo's Big Band - they are playing together since 1980 - belongs definitely to those Zappa cover bands who have left the "cover stadium". For Ed Palermo, saxophonist, band leader and arrangeur it's not a matter of reproducing the works of Frank Zappa but to interprete them totally in the spirit of Frank. He is arranging and mixing classic with jazz and R&B, enwrapping it with rich wind sections. His arrangements are peppered with unexpected twists and his band is keeping an easiness even at complex and speedy structures so that they are finding back to the main theme, which makes listening and watching a great experience. Ed Palermo's own works are in no way inferior to Zappa's interpretations, they fit seamlessly into the masterplan just like the conversions from other musicians.

„He was using the instrumentation of a traditional big band, but his arrangements and songs were anything else. When I thought that the music would take a particular direction it turned around the corner. Ed is able to keep this important balance between cohesiveness and unpredictability. Ed Palermo's music is vital and representing now.“ Gil Evans

After Zappa's death Ed,who got the Zappa virus from the „Mothers“, came up with the idea to give a tribute concert with his band. This show has been back then the most popular show of the big band – in the former club „The Bitter End“.
Thereupon the band was contacted from Alan Pepper from the club „The Bottom Line“, which lead to a nine year long engagement. During these year long engagements in the clubs of New York (after the „Botttom Line“ there were 10 years following at the „Iridium“) they performed mainly Zappa arrangements. At these shows it was inevitable that they met several Zappa alumni: Napoleon Murphy Brock, Gary Lucas, Mike Keneally, Ray White, Ike Willis, Candy Zappa, Denny Walley as well as Mats & Morgan have been guest musicians at these shows ... and because some of the musicians mentioned above will be guests at the jubilee Zappanale, too, it suggests itself to repeat one or another of those guest performances.

1997 they recorded their first Zappa album „The Ed Palermo Big Band plays the music of Frank Zappa“ which was published by Astor Place.
2006 they published under the label Cuneiform Records their second CD „Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance“.
2009 the band published their third CD „Eddy Loves Frank“, again on Cuneiform.
In February 2014 „OH NO!! NOT JAZZ!!“ was published and got enthusiastic write-ups, one 4 star rating from the Downbeat Magazine among them. 
2015 the band released the album „One Child Left Behind“ with Napoleon Murphy Brock and „Candy“ Zappa, Frank's sister.
In the year 2016 the band published the albums „The Great Un-American Songbook“, Volume 1 & 2, with Napoleon Murphy Brock, and this album got a 4 star rating from the Downbeat Maganzine, too.
And also the actual (2017) release „The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren – The music from Frank Zappa and Todd Rundgren“ is receiving enthused reviews.

„Eddy Loves Frank, „OH NO!! NOT JAZZ!!“, „One Child Left Behind“, „The Great Un-American Songbook“ and „The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren“ have been produced by Bruce McDaniel, guitarist and vocalist of the band.

Ed Palermo is teaching music at Hoff/Barthelson in Scarsdale, New York. He was recently named from the online magazin The Daily Beast as one of the 40 „fascinating musicians one should pay attention to“.

Unpredictability is a key element of Ed Palermo Big Band. The audience never knows what to expect, except total madness and brilliance.

Please „do sit down“ and enjoy it!

Additional Info

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #30

19. - 21.07.2019
The Torture stops in 53 days!
19. - 21. Juli 2019
The Torture stops in 53 days!

date

slogan
Menu

Ed Palermo Big Band (US)

Ed Palermo Big Band (US)

Ed Palermos Big Band! Ja. Ja. Ja.

Nach vielen Jahren – der legendären Z#13 – ist Ed Palermo mit seiner Band endlich wieder einmal zu Gast auf der Zappanale. Eigentlich müssten wir gar nichts dazu sagen. Außer: Genießt es!
Doch paar Worte hat er und seine Band dann doch verdient. Ed Palermos Big Band – sie spielt seit 1980 zusammen – gehört eindeutig zu den Zappa-Cover-Bands die dieses „Cover-Stadium“ verlassen haben. Ed Palermo, Saxophonist, Bandleader und Arrangeur geht es nicht um die reine Wiedergabe des Werkes von Frank Zappa, sondern um eine Interpretation ganz im Sinne von Frank. Er arrangiert und mixt Klassisches mit Jazz, R&B und umhüllt das mit fetten Bläsersätzen. Seine Arrangements sind mit jeder Menge unerwartete Wendungen gespickt und seine Band bewahrt selbst bei komplexen, temporeichen Strukturen eine traumwandlerische Leichtigkeit, durch die sie immer wieder zum Thema zurückfindet und das Zuhören und Zuschauen zu einem großartigen Erlebnis macht. Ed Palermos eigene Werke stehen dabei Zappas Interpretationen in nichts nach, sie fügen sich, genau wie Coverversionen von anderen Musikern, nahtlos in diese Gesamtidee ein.

„Er benutzte die Instrumentierung einer traditionellen Big Band, aber seine Arrangements und Songs waren alles andere als das. Wenn ich dachte, dass die Musik in eine bestimmte Richtung gehen würde, bog sie plötzlich um die Ecke. Ed hat die Fähigkeit, dieses wichtige Gleichgewicht zwischen Kohäsivität und Unvorhersehbarkeit zu halten. Ed Palermos Musik ist lebendig und präsentiert das Jetzt.“ Gil Evans

Ed, durch die „Mothers“ mit dem Zappa-Virus infiziert, hatte nach Zappas Tod die Idee, mit seiner Band ein Tribute-Konzert zu geben. Diese Show wurde die bis dahin bestbesuchte Show der Bigband – im damaligen Stammclub „The Bitter End“.
Die Band wurde daraufhin von Alan Pepper vom Club „The Bottom Line“ kontaktiert, was zu einem neunjährigen Engagement führte. Bei diesen langjährigen Engagements in Clubs von New York (nach dem „Botttom Line“ 10 Jahre im „Iridium“) wurden hauptsächlich Zappa-Arrangements interpretiert. Bei diesen Shows kam es dann auch zu den unumgänglichen Zusammentreffen mit diversen Zappa-Alumni: Napoleon Murphy Brock, Gary Lucas, Mike Keneally, Ray White, Ike Willis, Candy Zappa, Denny Walley und auch Mats & Morgan waren Gastmusiker bei diesen Shows ... und da auch einige der Genannten, Gäste der Jubiläums-Zappanale sein werden, liegt es nah den einen oder anderen Gastauftritt zu wiederholen.

1997 nahmen sie ihr erstes Zappa-Album auf, „The Ed Palermo Big Band plays the music of Frank Zappa“ und wurde bei Astor Place veröffentlicht.
2006 veröffentlichten sie unter dem Label Cuneiform Records ihre zweite CD „Take Your Clothes Off When You Dance“.
2009 veröffentlichte die Gruppe ihre dritte CD „Eddy Loves Frank“ ebenfalls auf Cuneiform.
Im Februar 2014 wurde „OH NO!! NOT JAZZ!!“ veröffentlicht und erhielt begeisterte Kritiken, darunter eine Vier-Sterne-Bewertung im Downbeat-Magazine.
2015 veröffentlichte die Band das Album „One Child Left Behind“ mit Napoleon Murphy Brock und „Candy“ Zappa, Franks Schwester.
Im Jahr 2016 veröffentlichte die Band die Alben „The Great Un-American Songbook“, Volume 1 & 2, mit Napoleon Murphy Brock, auch dieses Album erhielt eine 4-Sterne-Bewertung vom Downbeat-Magazine.
Auch seine aktuelle Veröffentlichung (2017) „The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren – Die Musik von Frank Zappa und Todd Rundgren“ findet begeisterte Kritiken.

„Eddy Loves Frank, „OH NO!! NOT JAZZ!!“, „One Child Left Behind“, „The Great Un-American Songbook“ und „The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren“ wurden vom Gitarristen und Sänger der Band, Bruce McDaniel, produziert.

Ed Palermo unterrichtet Musik bei Hoff/Barthelson in Scarsdale, New York. Er wurde kürzlich vom Online-Magazin The Daily Beast als einer der 40 „faszinierenden Musiker, auf die man achten sollte“ genannt.

Bei der Ed Palermo Big Band ist Unberechenbarkeit das Schlüsselelement. Das Publikum weiß nie, was zu erwarten ist, außer reinem Wahnsinn und Brillanz.

Bitte „nehmt Platz“ und genießt es!

Weitere Informationen

  • Bandvideos:

supported by

  • sponsoren toitoi

  • sponsoren novitas

  • sponsoren marketing direkt

  • sponsoren Baupunkt Flügel

  • sponsoren hotel friedrich franz

  • sponsoren MC Veranstaltungsservice

  • sponsoren bad_doberan

  • sponsoren eas

presented by

  • sponsoren rockradio

  • sponsoren hekticket

  • sponsoren arf society

Zappanale #30

19. - 21.07.2019
The Torture stops in 32 days!
19. - 21. Juli 2019
The Torture stops in 32 days!