Inventionis Mater Trio & Napoleon Murphy Brock (I/USA)

Saturday July 20th, 2024 - 16:15 - Mystery Stage
Sunday July 21st, 2024 - 12:00 - Exhibition, Am Markt 3

"I like the selection I've seen. I appreciate the effort you have put into your performances. Nice "odd" musical duo."- Dweezil Zappa

In this new concert, Inventionis Mater meets the double bass player Ferdinando Romano, voted as "Best Italian Rising Star" in Top Jazz 2020 (Musica Jazz’s Critics Poll).

Inventionis Mater was born as a project with the encounter between the clarinet player Pierpaolo Romani and the guitarist Andrea Pennati in 2011. Their purpose is to write down Zappa’s great music for a duo so little frequented as the clarinet and guitar duo is. Inventionis Mater certainly does not answer to the question of what meaning Frank Zappa had for rock music and what for classical music of the late twentieth century. But they take the bright and eccentric rock of Frank Zappa and return it back to the audience in a duo transcription reduced to the need of essentiality. A transcription that is translation, never distortion. A trip between stylistic and timbre versatility, from rhythm 'n blues to twelve tones atmospheres. A duo that tells a story in which the protagonist is an American composer who was able to draw from rock music of the XX century what the great romantic composers drew from folk music. One of the few who knew how to use the difficult simplicity resulting from the purification of complexity.
The duo has already played in Italy, in several important Festivals such as the "Festival of the Two Worlds" of Spoleto, "TrentinoInJazz Festival" and abroad inside the "Palacio Foz" of Lisbon (P), at the "Zapperlot Festival" (CH), at the "Moo-ah! Festival" (UK), Gesellschaftshaus of Magdeburg (D), and at the "Zappanale Festival" (D). In the August 2017 The duo has performed in China at the "Suzhou Municipal Center of Public Culture", "Xi'an Concert Hall", "Ningbo Cultural Plaza Grand Theatre" and in live streaming on v.qq.com from Beijing.
Furthermore, the duo recorded three studio albums on Zappa Music and other composers. The latest duo album – Zapping – was introduced in 2016 at the St. Katharinen church in Hamburg for the concert "Zappa spielt für Bach", which opens the Zappanale Festival. Inventionis Mater recorded a live album as a quartet featuring Napoleon Murphy Brock and Valentina Ciardelli in St. Katharinen church in Hamburg, July 18th, 2018. A new studio album, featuring Ferdinando Romano and Napoleon Murphy Brock (and other musicians) was released in the end of 2023.

Pierpaolo Romani brilliantly graduated in clarinet under the expert guidance of Fabio Battistelli at the L. Cherubini Conservatory in Florence and graduated in Computer Engineering at the University of Florence. He continued his studies with Maestros such as Giovanni Riccucci (School of Music of Fiesole), Antony Pay (Chigiana Accademy of Siena), Richard Stoltzman (International Camp of Music of Sermoneta), Dario Goracci, Alessandro Carbonare, Stefano Cardo.
As a soloist with orchestra, he played the concertos for clarinet and orchestra by W.A. Mozart and A. Copland. He performed as bass clarinetist for the Orchestra Giovanile Italiana. He has collaborated in chamber ensembles with artists such as Fabio Battistelli, Gabriele Mirabassi, Fabrizio Meloni, Alberto Bologni and Matteo Belli.
He is currently active as a clarinetist, arranger and composer with the Two-Fol Quartet, Inventionis Mater, Dzamati Trio, in duo with violinist Eleonora Zamboni and as a soloist.
Since 2020 he has been teaching computer science at the Istituto Statale d'Istruzione Superiore 'Gobetti-Volta' in Bagno a Ripoli (FI).

Andrea Pennati graduated from the Liceo Musicale in Arezzo and went on to study the humanities at the University of Siena, graduating cum laudae in 'Italian and European Literature' and 'Literature and Performing Arts'. In 2009, he graduated cum laudae in guitar at the L. Cherubini Conservatory in Florence, under the guidance of the great Alfonso Borghese. He continued his studies at the Post Graduate Courses of the School of Music of Fiesole, which he passed with honors.
He performed as soloist Rodrigo's Fantasia para un Gentilhombre for guitar and orchestra with the orchestra of the Cherubini Conservatory and with the orchestra of the School of Music of Fiesole. He has collaborated as a soloist and in chamber ensembles with the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, the Estate Fiesolana, the Florentine Classical Guitar Festival, the Florence Guitar Festival, the G.A.M.O., the Sarasvati Quartet and Roberto Fabbriciani.
Always dedicated to guitar transcription, he explores the classical repertoire from baroque to contemporary with the Trio Chitarristico Fiorentino of which he is a founding member.
He has been teaching guitar at the Liceo Musicale Alberti-Dante in Florence since 2017.

Ferdinando Romano, double bass player and composer, was ranked first in Musica Jazz's Top Jazz 2020 as 'Best New Italian Talent' and his record Totem was ranked eighth in the 'Best Italian Record' category of the same year. "Totem feat. Ralph Alessi", his first record as leader, was released on the Norwegian label Losen Records. The album's line-up features some of the most interesting musicians and improvisers of the new generation great trumpeter Ralph Alessi, a leading musician on the ECM label. The album received wide international acclaim, reviewed worldwide by leading magazines, journals and radio stations. Ferdinando carries out an intense live and studio activity, collaborating and performing with numerous musicians on the Italian and international scene such as Ralph Alessi, Enrico Rava, Robin Eubanks, Benny Golson, Glenn Ferris, Logan Richardson, Jerome Sabbagh, Simona Premazzi, Jon Boutellier, Maurizio Giammarco, Nico Gori, Fabrizio Puglisi and many others.
Ferdinando graduated from the L. Cherubini Conservatory in Florence, also attending the Experimental Composition course.
In 2015 he obtained a Master's degree in Performance with M. Enrico Fagone at the prestigious Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana.


Privacy Policy Notification

This site attempts to embed videos from the YouTube web server. Please note that when loading YouTube videos, personal information may be transmitted to YouTube. Do you agree with the loading and playing of Youtube videos? You can find more information HERE

Social Media

About us

Inventionis Mater Trio & Napoleon Murphy Brock (I/USA)

Samstag 20.7.24 20:00 - Mystery Stage

„Mir gefällt die Auswahl, die ich gesehen habe. Ich schätze die Mühe, die Ihr in Eure Auftritte gesteckt habt. Ein schönes „seltsames“ Musikduo.“ – Dweezil Zappa

In dem neuen Projekt trifft Inventionis Mater auf den Kontrabassisten Ferdinando Romano, der in Top Jazz 2020 (Kritikerumfrage von Musica Jazz) zum „Best Italian Rising Star“ gewählt wurde.

Inventionis Mater entstand als Projekt aus der Begegnung zwischen dem Klarinettisten Pierpaolo Romani und dem Gitarristen Andrea Pennati im Jahr 2011. Ihr Ziel ist es, Zappas großartige Musik für ein so wenig frequentiertes Duo wie das Klarinetten- und Gitarrenduo aufzuschreiben.

Inventionis Mater beantwortet sicherlich nicht die Frage, welche Bedeutung Frank Zappa für die Rockmusik und welche für die klassische Musik des späten 20. Jahrhunderts hatte. Aber sie nehmen den hellen und exzentrischen Rock von Frank Zappa und geben ihn in einer auf das Wesentliche reduzierten Duo-Transkription an das Publikum zurück. Eine Transkription, die Übersetzung und niemals Verzerrung ist. Eine Reise zwischen stilistischer und klanglicher Vielseitigkeit, von Rhythm 'n Blues bis hin zu Zwölfton-Atmosphären. Ein Duo, das eine Geschichte erzählt, in der der Protagonist ein amerikanischer Komponist ist, der aus der Rockmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts das schöpfen konnte, was die großen romantischen Komponisten aus der Volksmusik schöpften. Einer der wenigen, der es verstand, die schwierige Einfachheit, die sich aus der Reinigung der Komplexität ergibt, zu nutzen.

Das Duo hat bereits in Italien bei mehreren wichtigen Festivals gespielt, wie dem „Festival der zwei Welten“ von Spoleto, dem „TrentinoInJazz Festival“ und im Ausland im „Palacio Foz“ von Lissabon (P), beim „Zapperlot Festival“ (CH), beim „Moo-ah! Festival“ (UK), Gesellschaftshaus Magdeburg (D) und beim „Zappanale Festival“ (D). Im August 2017 trat das Duo in China im „Suzhou Municipal Center of Public Culture“ auf, in der „Xi'an Concert Hall“, im „Ningbo Cultural Plaza Grand Theatre“ und im Live-Streaming auf v.qq.com aus Peking.

Darüber hinaus nahm das Duo drei Studioalben mit Zappa Musik und anderen Komponisten auf. Das neueste Duo-Album – Zapping – wurde 2016 in der Hamburger St.-Katharinen-Kirche bei „Zappa spielt für Bach“, dem Eröffnungskonzert des Zappanale-Festivals vorgestellt. Inventionis Mater nahm am 18. Juli 2018 als Quartett mit Napoleon Murphy Brock und Valentina Ciardelli in der St. Katharinenkirche in Hamburg ein Live-Album auf. Ein neues Studioalbum mit Ferdinando Romano und Napoleon Murphy Brock (und anderen Musikern) wurde Ende 2023 veröffentlicht.

Pierpaolo Romani
schloss sein Studium der Klarinette unter der fachkundigen Anleitung von Fabio Battistelli am L. Cherubini-Konservatorium in Florenz mit Bravour ab, ebenso wie sein Studium der Computertechnik an der Universität Florenz. Er setzte seine Studien bei Meistern wie Giovanni Riccucci (Musikschule von Fiesole), Antony Pay (Chigiana-Akademie von Siena), Richard Stoltzman (International Camp of Music of Sermoneta), Dario Goracci, Alessandro Carbonare und Stefano Cardo fort.

Als Solist mit Orchester spielte er die Konzerte für Klarinette und Orchester von W.A. Mozart und A. Copland. Er trat als Bassklarinettist für das Orchestra Giovanile Italiana auf. Er hat in Kammerensembles mit Künstlern wie Fabio Battistelli, Gabriele Mirabassi, Fabrizio Meloni, Alberto Bologni und Matteo Belli zusammengearbeitet.

Derzeit ist er als Klarinettist, Arrangeur und Komponist mit dem Two-Fol Quartet, Inventionis Mater, Dzamati Trio, im Duo mit der Geigerin Eleonora Zamboni und als Solist tätig.

Seit 2020 unterrichtet er Informatik am Istituto Statale d'Istruzione Superiore „Gobetti-Volta“ in Bagno a Ripoli (FI).

Andrea Pennati
schloss sein Studium am Liceo Musicale in Arezzo ab und studierte anschließend Geisteswissenschaften an der Universität Siena, wo er die Fächer „Italienische und europäische Literatur“ sowie „Literatur und darstellende Kunst“ mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Im Jahr 2009 schloss er sein Gitarrenstudium am L. Cherubini-Konservatorium in Florenz unter der Leitung des großen Alfonso Borghese mit Auszeichnung ab. Er setzte sein Studium an den Postgraduiertenkursen der Musikschule von Fiesole fort, die er mit Auszeichnung abschloss.

Als Solist spielte er Rodrigos Fantasia para un Gentilhombre für Gitarre und Orchester mit dem Orchester des Cherubini-Konservatoriums und mit dem Orchester der Musikschule von Fiesole. Als Solist und in Kammerensembles hat er mit dem Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, dem Estate Fiesolana, dem Florentine Classical Guitar Festival, dem Florence Guitar Festival, dem G.A.M.O., dem Sarasvati Quartet und Roberto Fabbriciani zusammengearbeitet.

Er widmet sich stets der Gitarrentranskription und erkundet mit dem Trio Chitarristico Fiorentino, dessen Gründungsmitglied er ist, das klassische Repertoire vom Barock bis zur Gegenwart.

Seit 2017 unterrichtet er Gitarre am Liceo Musicale Alberti-Dante in Florenz.

Ferdinando Romano
Kontrabassist und Komponist, wurde bei Musica Jazz's Top Jazz 2020 als „Bestes neues italienisches Talent“ auf den ersten Platz gewählt und sein Album „Totem“ belegte im selben Jahr den achten Platz in der Kategorie „Beste italienische Platte“. „Totem feat. Ralph Alessi“, seine erste Platte als Bandleader, wurde auf dem norwegischen Label Losen Records veröffentlicht. Das Line-up des Albums umfasst einige der interessantesten Musiker und Improvisatoren der neuen Generation, darunter den großartigen Trompeter Ralph Alessi, einen führenden Musiker des ECM-Labels. Das Album erhielt große internationale Anerkennung und wurde weltweit von führenden Magazinen, Fachzeitschriften und Radiosendern rezensiert. Ferdinando übt eine intensive Live- und Studioaktivität aus und arbeitet mit zahlreichen Musikern der italienischen und internationalen Szene zusammen und tritt mit ihnen auf, darunter Ralph Alessi, Enrico Rava, Robin Eubanks, Benny Golson, Glenn Ferris, Logan Richardson, Jerome Sabbagh, Simona Premazzi und Jon Boutellier, Maurizio Giammarco, Nico Gori, Fabrizio Puglisi und viele andere.

Ferdinando schloss sein Studium am Konservatorium L. Cherubini in Florenz ab und besuchte auch den Kurs „Experimentelle Komposition“.

Im Jahr 2015 erwarb er einen Master-Abschluss in Performance bei M. Enrico Fagone am renommierten Conservatorio della Svizzera Italiana.


Datenschutzhinweis

Diese Webseite verwendet YouTube Videos. Um hier das Video zu sehen, stimmen Sie bitte zu, dass diese vom YouTube-Server geladen wird. Ggf. werden hierbei auch personenbezogene Daten an YouTube übermittelt. Weitere Informationen finden sie HIER

Social Media

Über uns

Rechtliches & Co